Users: Assign Permissions to User

 

The User: Assign Permissions to User page allows you to give a user access to folders within the system. Select folders to be accessed by checking their check boxes. Selecting a parent folder does not automatically select the child folders it contains, thus giving you the ability to select content at every folder level.

NOTE: Consider your permissions when creating your folder structure. The fewer permissions you have to manage, the happier an Admin you will be. Keeping it simple is a very smart way to go.

 

The Actions and Add'l Actions Menu

 

The Actions menu has the following option:

  • Save. Saves changes you’ve made to the current user’s permissions.

The Add'l Actions menu has the following options:

  • View User Permissions. Takes you to the Users: Permissions Assigned to User page where you can view the current user’s permissions.
  • Manage User Security Groups. Takes you to the Users: Assign Security Groups page where you can view and modify the current user’s Security Group assignments.
  • View User Security Group Permissions. Takes you to the Users: Security Group Permissions Assigned page where you can view the Security Groups assigned to the current user.
  • View All Permissions. Takes you to the Users: User and Security Group Permissions Assigned to User page where you view all permissions for the current user.

NOTE: There are two kinds of permissions in SmartCabinet®: User Permissions and Security Group Permissions. A User Permission gives a user access to a folder in the system independent of a Security Group. A Security Group Permission gives a user access to a group of folders defined as a single unit. Users can have both types of permissions. In that case, individual permissions override security group permissions. For example, if Jane has full access permissions to the HR folder for Resumes but was put in a security group with read only permissions for HR > Resumes, Jane will have Full Access permissions to HR > Resumes because her individual permissions outrank her security group permissions.

  • Manage User Security Classes. Takes you to the Users: Assign Security Classes page where you can assign a user to one or more security classes.
  • View User Security Classes. Takes you to the Users: View Security Classes page where you can view the current user's assigned security classes.  By default all users will be assigned the 'Public' security class, which cannot be deleted..
  • Edit User. Takes you to the Users: Edit User page where you can view and modify a user’s profile information.
  • Users. Takes you to the Manage Users: Users page where you can view all users in the system.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk