Manage Users: Security Groups

A Security Group is a collection of permissions that can be assigned to one or more users. Assigning permissions with Security Groups is more efficient and easier to manage after initial creation than assigning individual users to individual folders one at a time with simple User Permissions.

For example, let’s say you were managing a project team of 15 people. You could create 15 sets of user permissions to the content you want everyone to work with. Or you could create one Security Group which gave all 15 users permissions to the files in the project in one operation. Not only would this be faster for initial set up, it would also help you make changes more efficiently, like giving everyone access to a new folder.

To begin working with Security Groups, go to the Administration tray and click on Manage Users > Security Groups. This brings up the Manage Users: Security Groups page.


The Manage Users: Security Groups page shows the names of all Security Groups in the system in alphabetical order.

 

The Actions Menu

The Actions menu has the following options:

  • Add Security Group. Selecting Add Security Group takes you to the Add Security Group page where you can create a new Security Group.

 

The Items  Actions Menu

 

To configure a Security Group, click on its Item Actions menu. For each group, the following options are available:

  • Edit. Takes you to the Security Groups: Edit Security Group page where you can change the Name and Description of a Security Group.
  • Add Permissions. Takes you to the Security Groups: Assign Permissions to Security Group page where you can select folders to be included in a Security Group.
  • View User Permissions. Takes you to the Security Groups: Permissions Assigned to Security Group page where you can view the list of folders in the Security Group and the type of access users have to those folders.
  • Assign Security Group Users. Takes you to the Security Groups: Assign Users page where you can assign users to a Security Group.
  • View User Security Group Users. Takes you to the Security Groups: Assigned Users page where you can view the users assigned to a Security Group.
  • Delete. Removes the Security Group from the system.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk