The Content Information page, indicated by the Information Icon , holds enormous value. Each piece of content has metadata (data about the content), history, revision control, and shortcuts available. The Content Information is the main area to view all this information.
Metadata is defined as data about data. At the time of check in each piece of content is assigned metadata, some by the user checking the content in and some by the application. The metadata is one of the things that enables the content to be searchable.
Type: defines the main category of the document.
Subtype: is dependent on the type and can trigger the application to prompt the user to fill in metadata specific to that type/subtype of content.
Title: you have the ability to set up standard titles that can be edited by the user or allow the user to type in the title of the document.
Revision: the current revision you are viewing. You have the ability to check content out, make changes and check it back in creating a new revision. To view a different revision of the document click on the revision number under Links.
Checked In By: the application will assign the checked in by based on the user logged in.
Content Creator: choose from the list of users in the application from the drop down or type in your own Content Creator. You have the ability to make this field mandatory.
Security Class: refers to a Security Class the Administrator has set up. Will only show up if you have Security Class turned on.
Storage Rule: allows you the ability to store content as a native only or convert your native to a web viewable format.
Selected Workflow: if you’ve entered the piece of content into a workflow, the workflow name would show here.
Get Native: allows the user to get a native version of the document without checking the document out.
Is Locked: implies this is the final version of this document. Regardless of your permissions you will not be able to check this document out unless you have delete permissions or above to that document.
Comments: store 250 characters of text with formatting.
Date on Content: you have the ability to default this to date of check in, enter your own date and/or make it mandatory.
Release Date: you can choose the date the document will become available for users to see.
Expiration Date: allows you to set a date the document expires. The content will go into a holding pattern and only be viewable to administrators. This content can be found in Content Management>Expired Content and managed according to your retention policies.
Checked Out By: if the content has been checked out by a user the users name will show here.
Status: shows the status of the document.
Formats: shows the format the document is stored in.
The Links section of the Content Information provides you the following:
Web Viewable: if during check in you elected to create a web viewable version of your document when clicked this link will launch your adobe reader to view the document. If you’ve elected not to convert your document to a web viewable version when clicked you will be prompted to open or save the native version of your document.
Native File: will show you the native file name with extension and when clicked will either ask you to open or save the document or just download it depending on your browser settings.
Discussion: You can create a discussion by clicking on the Create Discussion link or if you have a discussion in place for this document you will see a link to the discussion document and how many posts are in it.
Revisions List: you will see a list of revisions for this document. To view any of the content information for a revision click on the link next to the revision with the revision number, from there you can view the document or preform any of the actions available. To delete a revision you click the Delete link under the actions for that revision if you have permission.
The folder path section outlines exactly where you are in the application as well as any shortcuts to that document that exist.
The Content Actions displayed will depend on your permissions. For example if you only have Read Only permissions you will not see the Content Actions drop down.
Check Out: checks out the content giving you the ability to make changes to the document and check it back in as a new revisions. If the content is checked out and you were the user checking it out or you have delete permissions or above you will see Undo Check Out and Check In Revision. If the content is checked out and you were not the user checking it out you will not see the Content Actions however you will see the user that has the content checked out under the Metadata>Checked Out By.
Update: will launch the Metadata window in editable format. Here you can update any of the content metadata for this document.
Send Link by Email: allows you to send a link to the Web Viewable, the Native File and the Content Info for the document via your email client.
The Additional Actions displayed will depend on your permissions.
Check In Similar: brings up the New Check In window with the metadata of the current document.
Create Shortcut: allows you to create a shortcut to this document in another location you have permissions to.
Notifications: allows you to set up your own individual notifications on the document for any of the following actions, New Check In, Revision Check In, Check Out, Undo Check Out, View, Get Native, Update, Delete Revision, Date Events and Future Revisions.
External Notifications: allows you to set up notifications by email address for a person that may not have access into SmartCabinet on any of the following actions, , New Check In, Revision Check In, Check Out, Undo Check Out, View, Get Native, Update, Delete Revision, Date Events and Future Revisions.
Content History: will show you the entire history of the document by action, action date and the user that performed the action.